VC congratulates dons, describes moment as a historic reflection of the University’s growing academic profile

The Governing Council of Kogi State University (now Prince Abubakar Audu University), Anyigba, has confirmed the promotion of 17 senior academics to the full Professorial Chair of the institution.

At her 59thRegular meeting held on Friday, 17th December, 2021, and presided over by the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman, Professor Ibrahim Abdu-Aguye, Councilalso confirmed the promotion of 15 new Readers cutting across departments and faculties in the University.

 The promotion of six of the new Professors was with effect from 1st October, 2019, while the remaining eleven had their promotion taking effect from 1st October, 2020.

The 17 new Professors in the University are Professors Ahmed Shehu Abdussalam (Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies), Israel Yunisa Akoh (Department of Religious Studies), Abiodun Simon Ige (Department of Religious Studies), Mohammed Badar S. Jibrin (Department of English and Literary Studies), Patrick I. Ukase (Department of History and International Studies) and Agahiu Attai Emmanuel (Department of Crop Production).

Others are Professors Abayomi Ajayi (Department of Anatomy), Enemaku Obaje (Law), Alili Ngozi (Private and Property Law), Josephine A.A. Agbonika (Private and Property Law), Johnson Juwon Orogun (Department of Business Administration), John O. Alabi (Department of Business Administration), Egbunu Audu Dangana (Department of Business Administration), Rufai S. Abdullahi (Department of Accounting), Aliyu Abdulrahman Oiza Chogudo (Department of Industrial Chemistry), Olajide Eniola (Department of Biochemistry) and Olanrewaju Oluseyi Ifatimehin (Department of Geography).

The 15 new Readers in the University as confirmed by Council include Dr. Oja Paul Egwemi (Department of Theatre Arts), Dr. Okpanachi Elijah Ojochonu (Department of Philosophy), Dr. Abdulaziz N. Olawale Badmus (Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies), Dr. Suleiman N. Saleh (Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies), Dr. Abu A. Ameh (Department of Business Administration), Dr. Samson Adewale (Department of Accounting), Dr. Samuel O. James (Department of Banking and Finance), Dr. Sunday A. Adegoke (Department of Microbiology), Dr. Salehdeen Mohammed Umar (Department of Industrial Chemistry), Dr. Aurelius Ojoina Omali (Department of Geology), Dr. Salihu Sanusi Avidime (Department of Political Science), Dr. Enojo Kennie Enojo (Department of Political Science), Dr. Akoji Ocheja (Department of Sociology) Dr. Vernatus V. Kakwagh (Department of Sociology) and Dr. Oyewole Benjamin Osigbodi (Department of Animal Production).

Other senior members of teaching and non-teaching staff of the University were also considered and promoted by Council at the Meeting.

Reacting to the development, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor Marietu Ohunene Tenuche, said the moment is historic, as this was the first time in the history of the institution that such a large number of senior academics are promoted to the professorial ranks.

The new dawn in the institution,coming on the heels of the recent success in the accreditation of 24 programmes in the University by the National Universities Commission, she stressed, is a reflection of her growing strength, especially in the area of commitment of the academic staff to research and community service.

She therefore congratulated the new Professors and Readers on the well-deserved heights and urged them not to rest on their oars in increasing the visibility of the University.

The Vice-Chancellor further used the occasion to thank His Excellency, the Executive Governor of Kogi State, Alhaji Yahaya Adoza Bello, for his relentless support to the University, which she stressed, has enormously positioned the University for better academic accomplishments.

Leave a Reply